This week saw the return to school of our boys. Our bigs all went back on Wednesday – A started his A levels, D started in year 9 and it was all change for E as he was taking the big step and moving up to high school.

Today our youngest, J, started nursery. It was a moment that I’ve been dreading for longer than I care to remember; he’s bright, incredibly funny and just all round great company (most of the time).

We were woken at 3am, when he came into bed with us. Then again at 5. And again at 6: I’ve never seen him quite so excited. On the way to school, gripping my hand tightly, he looked at me and said, ” Mummy, I know you’ll miss me – but you can go home and have a coffee and then come back for me.” So that was me told!

When we returned, he came out looking so grown up and gave me a cuddle. I asked him what the best bit was – he closed his eyes, raised his hands to the sky and smiled. “Just being at school!”

