Tags

, , , ,

So. The dish washer is broken. 

I discovered the dish washer was broken after the electricity was tripping for two days. Every time we flicked the trip switch it blew again.

Last night the boys and I played cards by torch light, in front of the fire. And we talked. And laughed. And we weren’t on our phones or laptops or tablets. To be honest, I’m considering switching the electricity off occasionally in the future.

So the electrician came out today, switched the power on, it stayed on, explained that it was like looking for a needle in a hay stack and left. I heard his van start up just as I closed the dish washer door and BANG power off again. So I found the needle…

Anyway, the dish washer was full of last night’s dishes so I’ve been getting used to hand washing again. And I have a lovely view of my garden so it’s not all bad.

I was watching my puppy bound around the garden, sniffing leaves, eating something rotting near the pond.

Mmm, dinner!

My mind wandered to when my second son was about 12 months old. He has Aspergers Syndrome and it was very hard. As a parent you want to introduce your children to new experiences and different tastes – but as a parent of a child on the autistic spectrum your life is ruled by regime and familiarity.

Anyway, I bought a cook book, meals for toddlers and I spent a very frustrating afternoon: attempting to cook, look after my older son and calm my toddler. Eventually dinner was cooked and cooled. I picked my son up, put him in the high chair and offered him dinner. He refused. He cried and spat the food out. He was distressed and I was in tears. So I gave up, lifted him down and started to tidy up.

I noticed he was quiet and I turned around – to find he’d climbed on the window cill and was eating a dead fly that he’d found.

Mmmm, dinner!

