Tags

, , , ,

Way back in September, when Laura told me about Blog On, I wasn’t sure that it was for me.

Or more accurately, whether I would be right for Blog On.

I had only just started blogging and I had no confidence in myself and felt lost. Everything was TOO new and TOO confusing. I was wading through treacle and didn’t know what I was doing.

I bought a ticket, despite my reservations, printed it off, tucked it away in my diary and pretended it wasn’t happening.

I have blogged a little since then but my confidence hasn’t really grown: I have been ‘defriended’ on Facebook by real life people who don’t understand blogging. They think I’m ‘up myself’. I have encountered problems and not known who to ask. I have discovered terms that I don’t understand and didn’t know where to go to find the answer. I have continued to read amazing blogs that, whilst I’ve really enjoyed them, have only served to make me feel less than competent.

Then I went to Blog On.

WOW

Everyone I chatted with was so warm and friendly. Everyone wanted to offer help and support. The sessions served to show me that not everyone blogs the same way – some plan, some make notes, some blog straight from the heart. Some edit photos in a certain way whilst others favour a completely different approach.

And do you know what? I feel buoyed.

I feel that maybe my own way is right. For me. That whilst my blog won’t set the world alight, that’s fine. I feel like I’ve been on the most amazing team build. That the people in my phone, in my iPad, in my laptop, the people that have been so kind, have offered me words of support, have held my hand over the Internet, are the most amazing bunch of people and I’m very lucky to have stumbled upon you all.

Thank you to all the speakers. The sessions were invaluable.

I would also like to thank Laura for all her hard work and her time. I cannot begin to imagine the amount of hard work that goes into coordinating a day like that.

Oh and the goody bags were TRULY amazing too!

