Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Munchkin recently had his induction for reception class. It’s such a big thing and I wanted to eliminate as many strange experiences as I could – so knowing that he would be required to have a packed lunch on the day, I started making a little packed lunch for him to have at home several days before.

I was keen to make sure that they were as healthy as possible – as I didn’t have much money when my older boys were little, so fruit was rarely part of their lunch and I fell into the trap of sandwiches, crisps and a little snack bar.

Munchkin is big on breakfast and lunch but doesn’t have much appetite for dinner unless it’s pasta. He detests potatoes in any guise so I try to make sure he’s full of good things during the day to balance out any fussy eating (or worse still, missed meals!)

My Instagram feed had pictures of a particular style of lunch box with a themed lunch using all sorts of extras so I thought I’d try to do something similar without the price tag.

Utilising my little collection of cookie cutters, I’ve made themed lunches for Munchkin on a daily basis and they’re a huge hit with him. As I’ve said, he has a love of healthy food so that’s not an issue, but he loves the surprise of finding out which shapes he has and how I’ve matched things up.

I have a barrel of Winnie The Pooh cutters that Mr sixdegreesofharmony bought for me last year; so Tigger, Winnie The Pooh and Piglet have all made appearances. We’ve had hearts and stars in varying sizes and a very special ‘man’ cookie cutter too.

'I love daddy' - heart shaped watermelon, apricot and cucumber with some tomatoes, a yogurt and cheese

‘I love daddy’ – heart shaped watermelon, apricot and cucumber with some tomatoes, a yogurt and cheese

Star shaped sandwiches, watermelon, tomatoes, cucumber and yellow peppers with a yogurt and cheese

Star shaped sandwiches, watermelon, tomatoes, cucumber and yellow peppers with a yogurt and cheese

It’s something that has certainly proved popular with other people as I’ve received lots of comments and ‘likes’ on my pictures that I’ve posted on my social media – and it’s something that has definitely captured the imagination of other parents.

I now want to continue to collect more cookie cutters and in turn, continue to make imaginative lunches for Munchkin for as long as he wants them.

