Tags

, , , , ,

When we first moved into this house, I was pregnant with Munchkin. I was so terribly tired and uncomfortable that we unpacked the necessities and shoved everything into what was going to be his bedroom.

Fast forward 5 years, Munchkin now sleeps in that room. Well, his bed is in that room. But he hates it. It’s a cot bed and he has a rubbish little wardrobe and a storage unit, hand me down curtains and a silky light shade that has seen better days.

When he goes to bed, Munchkin loves a good story and more often than not that is Daddy’s job. The time they spend together is quality one-on-one, which they miss out on throughout the day. Daddy’s Munchkin’s favourite books are currently the Jonny Duddle books, not least because Jonny is a much loved friend.

I think a pirate themed bedroom is something that every little landlubber, sorry, boy would want and with this in mind, I think I might have designed Munchkin’s very own dream bedroom:

Firstly he would need a bed. And what sort? Well, obviously a cabin bed! He’s getting way too big for his cotbed and something like this would be perfect. It’s much bigger than his current sleeping option and would give him plenty of room to play under too. This particular model is from the John Lewis ‘Stopmpa Uno’ range and is priced at £299 which is an absolute bargain!photo 1

To help keep the bedroom tidy, he would definitely need a bookcase – where else could he showcase all his beloved books? And this one is also from the same range, priced at £130

photo 3

I love the simplicity of this furniture and as Munchkin’s room is relatively small, white is a great colour.

As his bed is significantly higher than his cotbed, his little bedside table would be of no use, so a little shelf, like this would be really handy. Again, it’s from the Stompa Uno range, priced at £23. I am loving the little ‘pop’ of blue – what better colour to represent the sea…?

photo 1 (1)

And what would he have his water in? Well, this little gem coordinates beautifully! It also matches his dinner plate and bowl, so it truly was meant to be. And at just £4.95 it’s truly bargainatious!

photo 2 (1)

Moving on to the soft furnishings, I felt we could really go to town with the pirate theme. This duvet set and curtain combination from childrens-rooms.co.uk are perfect (£12.95 and £25.95 respectively)

photo 1 (2) photo 3 (1)

And this cute little lightshade as £16.95 is a whole heap better than the one he has now.

photo 2 (2)

There is even a matching rug (£9.95) which would be the perfect place to play with his pirate ship play sets.

photo 3 (2)

The only thing missing now is a wardrobe… and I found *just* what I was looking for at Argos. It has plenty of space for his clothes, drawers for underwear and socks, a shelf for spare bedding, it really is perfect and would last him many years. And it’s a snip at £249.99

photo 4.

The entire cost of this room is only £772.74 and whilst I felt that I could go much further with it, I needed to remember that I was designing someone else’s dream room – and with that in mind I cannot wait to start mentally designing the other bedrooms now… Husband beware, you may find yourself wielding a paintbrush in the near future!

 

This is my entry for the Little Stuff and Good to Be Home competition

