Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Fifteen Festive Favourites Tag

photo

Favourite Festive Food

Where do I start? Well, I definitely can’t narrow it down to just one… I love the guilt-free grazing that Christmas affords me; mince pies, stollen, Christmas cake, cheese and port. Amazing!

Favourite Reindeer

Rudolph! Who doesn’t love Rudolph? An outcast who overcomes adversity to become the hero of the story. What’s not to love?!

Favourite Day Of Christmas

Christmas Day. Obviously. I wake ridiculously early, having gone to bed way too late, and I wait to see the children open their stockings – the look of joy on their faces is worth the lack of sleep. I then get to spend the day surrounded by my loved ones, eating, watching TV, laughing, playing games. It’s perfect.

Favourite Christmas Song

Slade – Merry Christmas Everybody.

The ‘dulcet’ tones of Noddy Holder screaming out “IT’S CHRIIIISTMAAAAS!” makes me feel so festive. Plus, like all fabulous things (*cough* I mean ‘me’), it was released in December 1973…

Favourite Christmas Present

I’ve thought long and hard about this one. I just do not know. I’m incredibly lucky and I’ve never really wanted something and not had it. Also, I struggle to write my own Christmas list every year as I cannot think of a single material item I would desperately want!

Favourite Festive Film

The Holiday.

I’ve never really been a ‘chick flick’ kinda girl. I’m far more likely to opt for an action or comedy if we’re going to the cinema, but since meeting Mr sixdegrees I’ve become a little more ‘girlie’.

This film is a great feel-good movie with plenty of laughs. I adore Jack Black and Cameron Diaz, while Kate Winslet and Jude Law provide the perfect ‘Englishness’ to counter the slick Americans. If you haven’t seen this one, then I recommend you catch it this year.

Favourite Festive Cracker Toy

The Fortune Fish!

Favourite Cracker Joke

It might not even be a cracker joke – but it’s the only joke I know. And given the groans it receives, I think it’s probably the king of all cracker jokes:

Q: What do you call a Frenchman wearing sandals?

A: Phillipe Fillop

Favourite Christmas Decoration

A tiny pink fairy that we had on our tree when I was little. My mum gave her to me when I left home and she sits on our tree now.

She doesn’t take pride of place, at the top, because we have a big tree and we top it with a beautiful star. And to be fair, the fairy is butt-ugly. But she still has a place in my heart.

Favourite Christmas Candle Scent

Cinnamon and apple.

I love candles. I love choosing them and smelling them all, and they create a wonderful homely atmosphere as well.

Favourite Christmas TV Advert

Aldi.

I know I’m biased, but I love how it depicts different ‘families’. There’s the firemen who are working, the young man on the beach with his friends, a single mum, grandparents, large families gathering to celebrate together.

(And I do rather like the Morrison advert – but only because our beautiful niece is in it, leaving a carrot out for Santa!)

Favourite Festive Tradition

Opening one present on Christmas Eve. It’s always pyjamas and we buy them, wrap them and write labels from my mother in law. And once the children have left out Santa’s plate of mince pies, a small brandy and a carrot, then gone to bed, we light a special candle. It’s a lovely way to remember my mother in law.

Favourite Place To Spend Christmas

I do’t have a favourite place, I just need my husband and children with me.

Favourite Christmas Fact

Norwegian scientists have hypothesised that Rudolph’s red nose was probably the result of a parasitic infection of his respiratory system.

And on a personal level – I have never seen the Queen’s speech.

Favourite Snowman Accessory

On a real snowman it has to be a carrot. But in the Snowman film, it’s the false teeth. It still makes me chuckle.

Thank you to Chrissie from ManchesterFlickChick for nominating me.

I nominate:

Lizzie – MommaTwo

Vicki – LetsTalkBeauty

Kerrie – WifeMumStudentBum

Ally – MessedUpMum

TheUnCheshireWife

 

