Tags

, , , , , ,

Now that I’m back on my feet, it’s all systems go with the healthy eating and exercise. One of my favourite dinners is a cous cous salad. It also happens to be a huge hit with our children – and crucially, takes no time to make.

It’s a pretty random recipe – use more or less of the ingredients, depending on your taste:

Put 500g of cous cous in a large bowl, add a tin of sweetcorn (drained), a chopped cucumber, the juice of a lemon and a vegetable stock cube. Pour over enough boiling water to cover, give a quick stir then prepare the rest of the salad.

Roughly chop a pepper (or two), quarter a punnet of cherry tomatoes, cube some cheese, chop pitted black olives (a jar) and mince a large handful of coriander.

Oxo Good Grips kindly sent me their herb mincer and their new grape and tomato  cutter recently, so I decided to try both whilst making dinner.

image

The herb mincer is an ingenious mix of a mezzaluna and pizza cutter. The four circular blades are held safely within the casing which fits perfectly in the palm of my hand whilst moving over the herbs. The leading edge of the mincer can also be used to pile the herbs together. Cleaning is so easy as you can simply open it and run it under running water, although it is also dish washer safe. I love that it comes with a safety cover to protect fingers when it’s not in use.

image image image image

The grape and tomato cutter features a cross blade that quarters fruit and veg. Despite the name, I couldn’t fit a cherry tomato in the chamber. I think a baby plum tomato would probably be slim enough though. I whizzed  through the jar of olives, quartering them in no time! I liked how the blade was completely contained within the chamber. I later decided to add some chopped grapes to Munchkin’s lunchbox for tomorrow – and it performed equally well. Cleaning is a breeze too as it twists apart and can be popped in the top rack of the dish washer.

image image

And here is the finished dish!

image

So now, I have no excuses to not make super healthy dishes more often… How are you getting on with your New Year resolutions? Let me know.

DISCLAIMER: Oxo Good Grips kindly sent me the products for the purpose of this review, but all opinions are my own.

