Tags

, , , , ,

Today was always going to be a busy one – as well as all the other things on my ‘to-do’ list, I had an appointment with my hairdresser and I didn’t want my new do to smell of cooking – so I plumped for a slow cooker meal.

This recipe works so well, it is very much a ‘chuck it all in and forget about it’ kind of meal. You can cook it all day on low or just a couple of hours on high, but my Cookworks slow cooker is really good so I turned it on at lunch time on low and it was ready enough to serve the first time by 4:30.

You will need:

600g vegetarian mince (we love Quorn, it also doesn’t suck up too much liquid so if you’re using a different brand, you may want to check the liquid), 2 finely chopped onions, 2 roughly chopped peppers (I used a red and a yellow), 2 minced cloves of garlic, a drained tin of sweetcorn, a tin of chopped tomatoes, a carton of pasata, a crumbled vegetable stock cube, a little paprika (roughly 1/2 teaspoon)

Before cooking

Before cooking

First serving

First serving

It truly is versatile – tonight we’ve had two different meals; our boys ate early and had it as chilli (I boiled up some rice and rinsed the tomato sauce from a tin of baked beans which I mixed in, then once I dished it up they added chilli sauce to their desired ‘spice level’ (teens like it so that they get a sweaty top lip!)

image

Then I added a generous sprinkle of dried Italian herbs, gave it a stir and put the lid back on until ‘Mr six’ came home, then I cooked off some spaghetti and we had a delicious spaghetti bolognaise (served with a glass of red for a decadent Friday night meal together).

*No photo available – it was a rare evening together 😁*

Do you manage to feed – and please – everyone? I’d love to hear your tips and favourite recipes as I need to expand our repertoire…

 

