Tags

, , ,

Friday night is treat night here but Mr six has been off all week so we’ve had takeaway and have been out for dinner several times. I didn’t really want to cook up a storm tonight & wanted something quick (and easy) so had a quick look through the cupboards and fridge and decided to give vegetarian quesadillas a whirl.

image

I finely chopped some mushrooms and peppers and started frying it very gently. I then added some chopped chillies and minced garlic. I opened 2 tins of baked beans and rinsed the tomato sauce off (I didn’t have any other beans and this can often be a cheaper alternative) and popped them into the pan. Then I added a few chopped, fresh tomatoes and about 400g of spinach.

image

I let the mixture cook down for a few minutes to let the flavours mingle and the spinach wilt completely. I then sprayed a large frying pan with a little 1-cal spray and put in a flour tortilla. I ladled in some of the bean mixture on to one half, sprinkled on grated cheese and some chopped coriander.

image

Then I folded the other half over and flipped the quesadilla to brown on the other side.

I served them with salsa, soured cream and a few nachos. The children absolutely loved these! They even came back for a second!

image

