Tags

, , , , , ,

image

I grew up in the hills of North Wales. I consider myself so lucky.

I moved away to go to university and enjoyed all it had to offer; meeting people from all around the world, partying, learning, laughing. When I started work, I moved all over England and lived in some wonderful (and some not so wonderful) places. As much as I loved being able to move and see new places, I missed home.

“Hiraeth”

– a longing for one’s homeland, but it’s not mere homesickness. It’s an expression of the bond one feels with one’s home country when one is away from it.

Now that we live back in Wales, I feel completely at home. Settled. Recharged. It is so beautiful. It has everything a person could need, and more.

A day out can take us to any number of breathtaking beaches

image

with amazing sunsets

image

or see us walking in the hills.

image

We can drive through spectacular countryside

image

to spend a few hours at a lake.

image

The weather is changeable; we can have four seasons in one day. It frequently rains – but we often have glorious sunshine and soaring temperatures. And sledging is so much more fun than you can imagine as our winters are magical

image

I am blown away by the beauty of my homeland – Wales, if you haven’t visited you really should plan to soon.

I would like to tag:

to write about where home is for them.

