Tags

, , ,

I have been feeling pretty sluggish and incredibly tired over the last few months. I know that my iron levels are probably low – but that’s a whole different story – but now my IBS has kicked off and I want to try and do what I can to stop it becoming a full blown episode.

One thing I have found helpful is avoiding wheat: no bread, no pasta, no tortillas, checking ingredients of items I normally throw in my basket…

I have been craving lasagne over the last few days so decided to attempt to make one. I’ve heard about people using courgettes as a pasta alternative (who hasn’t heard of courgetti, right?) so used that as my basis.

This lasagne will feed 4 people

For the mince I used:

  • 2 onions, finely chopped
  • 2 peppers, finely chopped
  • 3 carrots, finely grated
  • chopped garlic
  • squeeze of tomato purée
  • 2 tins of chopped tomatoes
  • 2 stock cubes
  • a hefty shake of dried mixed herbs

I gently fried the onions and the peppers until the onions became translucent then added the grated carrot. Once it started to soften down I added the chopped garlic. Then I squeezed in the tomato purée, tinned tomatoes, stock cubes and mixed herbs and let it cook down.

image

The pasta alternative was 2 large courgettes, thinly sliced, lengthwise.

image

For the sauce I simply mixed 500g of low fat natural yogurt and 500g of cottage cheese.

I assembled the lasagne as normal and baked in the oven until browned.

image image

I really enjoyed this – homely lasagne without the stomach cramps or the “carb-coma”.

Do let me know if you try this – or if you have any other recipes I could try!

