Tags

, ,

I am desperately trying to eat better. Which was easy last week as the weather was lovely. But this week the temperature has taken a significant dip and the rain has barely stopped which means I find myself reaching for stodgy, comforting food.

CUE A ‘STEP AWAY FROM THE BISCUITS’ KLAXON

But I think that this recipe (how long can I keep using that word without laughing?!) is firmly in both camps – healthy AND comforting.

You will need:

  • Cous cous
  • A tin of sweetcorn
  • Lemons
  • Coriander
  • Stock cube
  • Cheese
  • Courgettes
  • Peppers
  • Tomatoes
  • Garlic

Prepare the cous cous by adding the stock cube and covering with boiling water. As it starts to swell, add the drained sweetcorn, the lemon juice, chopped coriander and cubed cheese.

image

At this point you could just add salad-type vegetables, which I’ve blogged about before. But I really wanted something more substantial.

I chopped the peppers and courgettes, tossed in a little oil and roasted them until softened. Then I added a few chopped tomatoes and crushed a few cloves of garlic, added them to the roasting dish and popped it back in the oven for a few minutes.

image

Then I fluffed up the cous cous with a fork and mixed in the vegetables.

See – it’s so sunny and fulfilling

image

Do you have any healthy yet comforting recipes? I’d love to hear your ideas as they will help me to stay on track as the winter approaches.

