There’s always lots of laundry in the ‘six degrees’ house. Apart form the daily clothes, there’s Mr six’s work clothes, four lots of school uniform and PE kits, swimming costumes and trunks, Teen 1’s work uniform,  5 sets of bedding, towels… The list goes on. And on.

To try to save time, I have two laundry baskets; one for whites and one for darks. This means that I don’t have to sort the clothes for a hot wash and can just grab an armful of whites.

However, this isn’t always a fail safe method. Occasionally a rogue dark sock sneaks in. And then there’s the sinking feeling of going into the kitchen to make a drink, only to see a single black sock, soaking in the hot water, taunting me from behind the glass in the washing machine door.

When I discovered Dr Beckmann Colour & Dirt Collector, I was suspicious. I couldn’t believe that something so small could potentially save my whites.

I wanted to really test how effective they really are so I chose a crisp, white towel and threw it into the machine with a black sock and set it to 60 degrees, a typical temperature for whites. I wanted to make sure that it was as close to a real scenario.

Once the cycle was finished, I took the items out and was REALLY impressed. There was no colour run at all. Nothing. But the colour collector was discoloured.

FullSizeRender (4)

So the following day, I decided to try again. This time I used my son’s brand new, over dyed, BLACK jacket with the same towel in a 40 degree wash.

When the cycle was over, I discovered the towel was a little discoloured. Not a streaky, marbled stain, but a move even, slightly off-white colour.

And then I removed the colour collector.

FullSizeRender (5)

I honestly think that without it, the towel would have been ruined! And it was definitely an unfair test as it is only there to protect against accidental colour runs; an odd sock, clothing with more than one colour, cool washes.

Dr Beckmann Colour & Dirt Collector is available for £3.20

*DISCLAIMER – I was sent this for the purpose of this review, but all words are my own*

