A couple of years ago I compiled a list of things to do before I turned 40.

I didn’t really get round to ticking many of them off.

And this is okay – because it wasn’t about having a midlife crisis or panicking about aging. It was about embracing the life that I have and making the most of it.

Unfortunately I haven’t really been up to doing the physical things. I have always wanted to try rowing and I’ve sat on the river bank, watching the boat teams powering backwards and forwards, wishing I could join in. But my joints just cant cope with the extreme physical exertion.

However, that doesn’t mean that I’m content to sit around waiting for things to happen.

And after many conversations with Mr six, some advice from a friend and a deep breath, I have taken a step forward to crossing something off that list.

And I might fail, but that’s okay.

Because at least I tried.

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts

– Winston S. Churchill

And I am being brave…

 

