Tags

, , , ,

I’ll be the first to admit that over the last 6-9 months, my activity level has fallen.

It’s tough to hit your goal of 10,000 steps when you’re aching, experiencing a loss of balance and general energy levels are in your (frankly, rather uncomfortable) boots.

But, as I’ve said before, I can’t spend the rest of my life on the sofa.

So in line with my ‘small changes’ I’m trying to add extra steps to my daily life. That doesn’t mean that I’ve taken up running again. In fact, my treadmill is now listed on a selling site as I can’t see me ever using it again.

But when I do the school run, I am trying to take the marginally longer route. When I nip to the corner shop, I am aiming to not take a short cut. And taking the stairs instead of the lift.

Small changes.

Last weekend Mr six and Munchkin really wanted to go for a walk. Our pooch needed a leg stretch and a change of scenery too, so we drove out to Delamere forest to find the Gruffalo trail. We parked a little way from the bike centre but made our way through the forest rather than walking on the roadside.

It was extremely muddy after the heavy rain, but that wasn’t going to stop us. We followed the sign posts and looked for wildlife before eventually finding terrible tusks, terrible claws and terrible teeth in terrible jaws (and of course, posing for an obligatory photo!)

image

Getting wrapped up and having a mooch somewhere new was just what we needed, it’s so beautiful and having fun meant that we weren’t counting our steps. And we managed almost 6000 steps! How great is that?!

Next week we’ve decided to return and walk the Stick Man trail which I’m sure will be just as much fun!

image

