Regular readers will be aware that here at the sixdegrees house, we are huge Interplay fans so when we were sent their hovercraft to review, we were thrilled.

IMG_5267.JPG

Now, as you’ll be aware, it has been chaotic here recently so when I found myself alone for an afternoon, I grabbed the opportunity to treat myself to some ‘me’ time and set myself the challenge of building it.

As with all Interplay kits, everything you need is in the box: airbox walls, airbox floor, cabin, rudder assembly, fan, battery box, polystyrene tray, polythene tube and of course, the very informative instruction booklet.

IMG_5268.JPG

 I made sure that I familiarised myself with all the parts first before starting. The instruction book contains step by step guidance and diagrams which mean that construction of the hovercraft is simple.

IMG_5274.JPG

 The parts are all connected with paper fasteners (included) so it is suitable for children from the age of 8.

IMG_5269.JPG

Once you have built the cabin and attached the fan and the battery pack (requires 4 x AAA batteries), your hovercraft is good to go over tiled surfaces and short-pile carpet.

If however you want to go one step further, a skirt is included in the box. When you have attached this, it provides a flexible extension to the bottom of the hovercraft, allowing the craft to pass over obstacles.

IMG_5271.JPG

I really enjoyed building this kit and Munchkin and I had a great time playing with it. These Interplay kits make learning fun – and that has to be a winner in my eyes! They are available direct from Interplay and from good toy retailers.

DISCLAIMER: We were kindly sent this product for the purpose of this review, but all opinions are my own.

