Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I was absolutely shattered! I had spent the previous day at Blog On at MSI in Manchester (more of that to follow) and whilst me head was full of ideas my body wasn’t playing. I wrote up our menu plan for this week and a shopping list then went to the supermarket – but after that I was done.

But I needed to cook dinner for 6.

Fortunately we all love pasta so I made a really simple and tasty pasta sauce that cost very little and took no time at all.

FullSizeRender (20).jpg

You will need:

  • 2 large onions
  • a splash of oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic (more if you fancy)
  • a good squidge of tomato puree
  • 3 tins of chopped tomatoes
  • basil

I peeled the onions and chopped them into 6 pieces. Nothing fancy. And then I gently fried them on low until they were soft and starting to catch on the edges. This way they get all sweet and delicious. Then I crushed the garlic and added it, stirred it around for a few seconds until I could smell it – then removed the pan from the heat and tipped it into the blender.

Once it was smooth (and it WILL look quite unattractive at this stage) I returned it to the pan and added the tomato puree. Whilst that was warming, I added two of the tins of tomatoes to the blender then added them to the pan.

Finally I tipped the final tin of tomatoes into the blender with the basil, whizzed and poured that into the pan.

IMG_5640.JPG

See! Super easy!

Whilst the sauce was heating – and reducing – I cooked the pasta, drained it and poured the sauce over.

I served it with a generous handful of grated cheese and a side salad (a bag of pre prepared salad with some cherry tomatoes thrown in).

IMG_5645.JPG

What are your quick and easy family favourites? I’d love to know how you feed your family in a hurry…

