Tags

, , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago I made a lazy lentil Bolognese. It really was incredibly easy and a great way to add lentils to our diet. Teen 1 went back for extras and added Tabasco which got me thinking…

Today I ‘tweaked’ the recipe and made a spicy lentil mix for fajitas. Here’s what I used:

  • 3 onions, finely chopped
  • 3 carrots, finely grated
  • 2 chillies, finely chopped
  • 3 fat cloves of garlic, crushed
  • a tablespoon of my own fajita mix
  • a squidge of tomato puree
  • 3 tins of chopped tomatoes
  • 2 tins of green lentils, drained and rinsed.

I gently fried the onions to soften them, then I added the carrot and chillies and let them fry for another few minutes. Then I added the garlic (ensuring it didn’t catch), the fajita mix and the tomato puree. Finally I tipped in the tomatoes and lentils and let it simmer and reduce, allowing the flavours to improve.

IMG_5697.JPG

Seriously, how easy it that?!

I put some natural yogurt on a flour tortilla, spooned some of the spicy lentil mix on and topped with cheese before rolling and serving.

IMG_5696.JPG

My boys absolutely adored this – even more than the previous lentil dish! I can see this being our new ‘go to’ mid-week dinner.

 

