Tags

, , , ,

When I was younger, I loved to press flowers.

My mum showed me how to select colourful flowers and carefully arrange them between blotting paper before nestling them in a pile of heavy books. But the problem was waiting. I am impatient. And the idea that a successful press could take 6 weeks was torture.

So when Interplay sent me the Instant Flower Press, I was eager to see if it lived up to the hype.

FullSizeRender (14).jpg

The Instant Flower Press is from the ‘My Living World’ range, which if you’ve read my blog over the last 12 months, you’ll be aware of how much I love this range! Introducing children to nature by firing up their imagination and learning in the very best way, by having fun.

The flower press comprises of a plastic press, two hinge pins, 4 thick felt pads, 2 cotton pads and instruction booklet.

FullSizeRender (13).jpg

I started by selecting some flowers from our garden. We have plenty of forget-me-nots in the borders so I picked some, arranged them between the cotton pads and felt pads, closed the press and microwaved (with half a cup of water, as advised) for 20 seconds.

The dried flowers were particularly delicate as they were so small, so I moved on to violets. SUCCESS!

I even managed to press a poppy. It took longer than 20 seconds, but as it explains in the booklet, larger flowers will take longer. And as you become more experienced, you’ll know which flowers will need a few blasts in the microwave and which will be done quicker.

As for the results, with just a sheet of black card from our crafting box, some glue and an old pesto jar, I’ve made a couple of pretty bookmarks, a card and a jar for paperclips.

IMG_5984.JPG

It really is so simple to use and to create beautiful items – the only limit would be your imagination. The Instant Flower Press would make a fabulous present for children and adults alike and is available from Interplay and other good retailers for £9.99

*DISCLAIMER – we were kindly sent this product for the purpose of this review, but all opinions are my own*

