Tags

, , , , , ,

When I was younger, in primary school, I saved up my pocket money and bought a microscope. It sat on my desk, the little mirror positioned so as to reflect the sun and provide a light source. I got books from the library and looked at fibres.

But now it’s all so much easier! And cost effective…

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

This Pocket Microscope from Interplay does exactly what it says: it fits in a pocket.

It comes with ready made slides of different fibres and insects parts, blank slides for you to make up yourself, specimen pots, labels and tweezers as well as a wonderful booklet containing instructions on how to use the microscope and observation activities for you – or your young budding biologist – to investigate.

IMG_5443.JPG

To get started, you simply need to insert batteries and you’re off.

Munchkin really enjoyed using this – not least because it’s small enough for him to handle, yet with 30 x magnification it is powerful enough to show him a whole new world!

We used the pre-made slides first so that Munchkin could get used to the microscope and how he needed to use it and then we made a slide of our own using membrane from an onion. It was one of the first things I did as a child, so simple and you can see the cells clearly (although my photo isn’t as clear as the view we had).

FullSizeRender (2)

Given that this is priced at just £9.99, I think it is great value for money. It is a fantastic way to introduce children to science without costing the earth and convenient to pop into your pocket for spontaneous trips out.

