Tags

, , , ,

Eyes.

Essential.

But, as with everything else in life, you take them for granted.

I’ve recently had to start wearing glasses. I think it’s due to my fibromyalgia. Muscle weakness seems to be a running theme and some days they are really poor and I’m wearing my glasses constantly – whereas I can also find myself not reaching for my glasses for weeks at a time.

Bizarre!

But earlier this week, I woke with slightly blurred vision. Kinda like I had got moisturiser in them. It didn’t clear throughout the day which was slightly annoying as I work in a school and need to be able to see clearly. And I had the start of a headache.

The following day I had colourful hues around any text that I was trying to read and my head was beginning to hurt more.

By Thursday I had a grey patch in my field of vision. It was like I’d looked at a bright light and then looked away. And my headache wasn’t getting any better.

When I left work I popped into the optician. They examined my eyes then asked me lots of questions about my coordination, whether I vomited with the headaches and whether I had any loss of balance. The optician spoke to my GP and told me that I had an emergency appointment with the ophthalmologist the following day, at the hospital.

To be honest, all I was worried about was being off work (I have THE best job) and what tests they would do. The idea that someone would want to touch my eyeball made me feel squeamish – but Mr six was really worried and decided he was going to meet me at the hospital.

So…

I ended up having a lengthy field test and was sent to see a consultant who asked lots more questions then squirted some yellow liquid in my eyes, which made me jump. Then she told me it was anaesthetic. She shone a light in my eyes, apparently tou and finally said everything was fine.

Mr six asked her why I had been rushed in and she said that there was a bulge on my optic nerve and with other symptoms, the optician was worried about a possible brain tumour – but that the bulge is down to my fibromyalgia and nothing to worry about as it will rectify itself.

Again, I feel incredibly lucky to have been taken care of by our wonderful NHS

