*Knocks* 

Is anybody still here?

I’m about to dust off the laptop and see if I can remember how to do this…

Well, big news is both me AND Mr six have changed our jobs. He left his store and moved to head office – then a few weeks later, I followed him. We’re both so much happier and it’s lovely to be able to travel in to work together.

One of the biggest challenges is getting dinner on the table once we get in from work. I’ve always done a menu plan but now I need to be more creative as we don’t get in until after 5:30pm…

I’ve liberated my slow cooker from the back of the cupboard (it must be the week for re-finding unused gadgets) and have a couple of ideas.

Tonight was vegetarian fajitas. And it was very cost effective due to shopping at Iceland. 

This morning I put a shake of frozen, chopped onions, added a bag of frozen, sliced peppers, two bags of Quorn chicken style pieces (on offer at the time of writing this), a generous shake of homemade fajita seasoning, a couple of handfuls of frozen sweetcorn and several chopped, fresh tomatoes. 

I switched it on and went to work. That’s it. Barely any prep at all and when we got in from work, it smelled amazing.

Mr six set about grating some cheese whilst I started assembling the fajitas, spooning a little natural yogurt instead of sour cream on to the flour fajitas – and within 10 minutes all of us were sat down to a home cooked, vegetable laden, incredibly tasty dinner.

It wasn’t overly spicy – which meant that Munchkin happily ate his – so the teens spiced theirs up with Tabasco. They ALL asked for extras which is unheard of here!

I’ve got another meal to cook in the slow cooker later this week – I just hope it’s as successful!

I’d love to hear if you have any ‘meal hacks’ as any advice is gratefully received! 

